State-by-State Chart on Final-Pay Laws

August 14, 2013

This chart summarizes state final-pay laws. States without laws have been omitted.

Delaware, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Virginia and Washington are omitted because employees in those states must receive their final pay at the next regular payday, regardless of whether they quit or were fired.

Some states, like Massachusetts, have special rules for paying employees who work in manufacturing. As always, to get the full story on final pay, you should consult your state labor department. {Note: Payroll Compliance Handbook: The Legal Way to Pay will give you answers to your pressing payroll questions, help you plan and execute your payroll procedures accurately, and keep you in compliance.}